#### **Canadian Conference of the Arts**

# **National Advisory Committee on Policy Priorities**

The board of the Canadian Conference of the Arts (CCA) has reinstated a National Advisory Committee on Policy Priorities to seek advice on the priorities of the CCA. The committee is divided into two sub-committees, one Anglophone and one Francophone, each sharing the same mandate and meeting jointly from time to time and at least once a year.

## **Objectives**

- To give more say to organizational members of the CCA in the selection of its policy and advocacy priorities
- To advise the CCA board and secretariat on key policy issues of the arts, culture and heritage sector and on the best way to deal with them
- To facilitate strategic information exchange between the various networks of members of the CCA
- To help identify consensus areas around policy issues and messaging which would be common to as many organizations as possible, within their own specific strategies

#### Mandate:

The Policy and Advocacy Committee and the two sub-committees will:

- 1. Advise the CCA board and secretariat on the short, mid and long-term policy priorities of the Canadian arts, culture and heritage sector.
- 2. Exchange intelligence on priority policy issues and documents which could be shared within membership.
- 3. Advise the CCA board and secretariat on the advocacy stances taken by the CCA on any issue in public hearings, in position papers or in editorial comments in various forums.
- 4. Advise the CCA on research projects it could undertake.
- 5. Help identify common messaging and possible strategies on issues of common interest (e.g. in a pre-budget submission or in a federal election campaign).
- 6. Suggest themes for symposia, National Policy Conferences and Chalmers events.
- 7. Help identify assets within the sector and resources required (financial or in-kind) for advocacy purposes; create partnerships within and outside the sector and enable networks for communication and advocacy purposes.

## **Current membership:**

## 1. English sub-committee:

Kathleen Sharpe, CCA President (Chair)

Stephen Waddell, Alliance of Canadian Cinema, Television and Radio Artists (ACTRA)

Christina Loewen, Opera.ca

Paul Spurgeon, Society of Composers, Authors and Music Publishers of Canada (SOCAN)

Bill Skolnik, Canadian Federation of Musicians (CFM)

Erin Benjamin, Canadian Arts Presenting Association/l'Association canadienne des

organismes artistiques (CAPACOA)

Carolyn Wood, Association of Canadian Publishers (ACP)

Duncan McKie, Canadian Independent Music Association (CIMA)

Sandy Crawley, Professional Writers Association of Canada (PWAC)

Kelly Duffin, Writers' Union of Canada

Melanie Rutledge, Canadian Museums Association (CMA)

Maureen Parker, Writers' Guild of Canada (WGC)

Brian Anthony, Directors Guild of Canada (DGC)

Arden Ryshpan, Canadian Actors' Equity Association

Susan Annis, Cultural Human Resources Council (CHRC)

April Britski, Canadian Artists' Representation/Le Front des artistes canadiens (CARFAC)

Nathalie Fave, Canadian Dance Assembly (CDA)

Maegen Black, Canadian Craft Federation (CCF)

Roanie Levy, Access Copyright

### 2. French sub-committee:

Michel Beauchemin, CCA Vice-President (Chair)

Raymond Legault, Union des artistes (UDA)

Lorraine Hébert, Regroupement de la danse du Québec (RDQ)

Christian Bédard, Regroupement des artistes en arts visuels (RAAV)

Martine Lévesque, Conseil québécois du théâtre (CQT)

Luc Fortin, Guilde des musiciens et musiciennes du Québec (GMMQ)

Richard Prieur, Association nationale des éditeurs de livres (ANEL)

Bastien Gilbert, Regroupement des centres d'artistes autogérés du Québec (RCAAQ)

Claire Samson, Association des producteurs de films et de télévision du Québec (APFTQ)

Anne-Marie Jean, Culture Montréal

Sylvie Gamache, Conseil québécois de la musique (CQM)

Éric Dubeau, Fédération culturelle canadienne-française (FCCF)

Carmen Gibbs, Association acadienne des artistes professionnel.le.s du Nouveau-Brunswick (AAAPNB)