





CCA Highlights

In the early 1940s, a group of eminent artists, including Lawren S. Harris, member of the Group of Seven, painter André Biéler, sculptor Elizabeth Wyn Wood and poet F.R. Scott, started what was to become the Canadian Conference of the Arts (CCA). Since its creation, the CCA has worked tirelessly to promote the interests of Canadian artists and of the Canadian cultural sector at large, providing a national forum where issues of common interest can be discussed and pursued. The 67 year history of the CCA is marked by many important milestones. Here are some of the highlights:

- CCA's advocacy leads to the creation of the **Massey-Lévesque Commission** in 1949.
- During the 1950s, the CCA coordinates the cultural sector's views and advocates for a national arts board independent from the government, a national library and a national commission for UNESCO. This leads to the creation of the Canada Council for the Arts (1957), the National Library (1953) and the National Commission for UNESCO (1957).
- Throughout the 1960s and 70s, the CCA is directly involved in the development of all major cultural policy developments at the federal level.
- Twelve years of CCA leadership are rewarded with the adoption of the federal *Status of the Artist Legislation* (1992).
- In the 1990s, the CCA creates the Cultural Sector Training Committee
 to improve work and training opportunities for members of the
 cultural labour force. The committee later became independent of
 the CCA as the Cultural Human Resources Council.
- The CCA is the incubator and administrator of the national ArtsSmarts program, from its creation in 1998 to 2005, when the Canadian Education Association took over.
- The CCA is a founding member of the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards Foundation, alongside the National Arts Centre, the Canada Council for the Arts and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (1992).
- The CCA participates actively in the development and adoption of the UNESCO Convention on the Protection and Promotion of the Diversity of Cultural Expressions (2005).
- Most recently, the CCA demonstrated its role as convener by bringing together 98 organizations from coast to coast to support a common message to the government regarding copyright reform. This led to the presentation to Parliament of a series of amendments that reflected a large consensus in the cultural sector regarding this issue.

CCA National Directors

Alan Jarvis (1960-66)
Herman Voaden (1966-1968)
Henry Comor (1968)
Duncan Cameron (1968-1971)
John Hobday (1971-1982)
Jeffery Holmes (1982-1983)
Brian Anthony (1983-1986)
Michelle d'Auray (1986-1989)
Keith Kelly (1990-1999)
Megan Williams (1999-2005)
Jean Malavoy (2005)
Alain Pineau (2005-2012)

CCA Presidents

Herman Voaden (1945-1948) Jean Bruchesi (1949-1948) Claude Lewis (1952-1953) Roland Charlebois (1954-1955) John Parkin (1956-1957) Jean Bruchesi (1957-1958) Robert Elie (1959) Arthur Gelber (1959-1968) Jean-Louis Roux (1968-1970) Gilles Lefebvre (1970-1972) Pauline McGibbon (1972-1974) Richard Courtney (1974-1976) Elizabeth Lane (1976-1978) Micheline Legendre (1978-1979) Lister Sinclair (1980-1983) Micheline Tessier (1983-1984) Curtis Barlow (1984-1986) Claudette Fortier (1986-1988) Paul Siren (1988-1990) Patrick Close (1990-1992) Simon Auger (1992-1994) Jan Miller (1994-1996) Mireille Gagne (1996-1998) Pat Bradley (1998-2001) Pierre Filion (2001-2002) Denise Roy (2002-2005) Robert Spickler (2005-2008) Kathleen Sharpe (2008-2012)

For a short history of the CCA, click here, and for a more detailed list of achievements, here.







CCA Awards

Since 1954, the CCA has given <u>awards</u> to members of Canada's cultural community who have made significant contributions to the spirit and vitality of arts and culture in this country. The list of recipients reads like a Who's Who of the Canadian cultural sector.

The **Diplôme d'honneur** is presented annually to a Canadian who has made a sustained contribution to the cultural life of the country, whether through volunteer activity, mentoring, patronage, individual arts practice or other recognized support. The Keith Kelly Award for Cultural Leadership has been awarded annually since 1998, when it was established to recognize the leadership shown by the former National Director of the CCA during his tenure from 1989 to 1998. It is presented to a Canadian who has made a significant contribution to the arts through advocacy work or the development of cultural policy, or who has otherwise demonstrated leadership in the field.

List of recipients of the Diplôme d'honneur

1954 Vincent Massey, C.C., C.H.*

1956 Tom Patterson, O.C.*

1957 Jean Bruchési*

1958 Walter Herbert, O.C.*

1959 Senator Donald Cameron, O.C.*

1960 Honourable Brooke Claxton*

1961 lby Koerner, O.C.*

1962 William A. Riddell, O.C.*

1965 Albert Trueman, O.C.*

1968 Marius Barbeau, C.C.*

1969 Alan Jarvis*

1970 Wilfrid Pelletier, C.C. *

1971 Peter Dwyer, O.C.*

1972 Alain Grandbois, C.C. *

1973 Donald Wetmore, C.M. *

1974 Erik Bruhn*

Floyd S. Chalmers, C.C., O.Ont. *

Esse W. Ljungh, C.M. *

Mariette Rousseau-Vermette, O.C.*

1975 Ludmilla Chiriaeff, C.C.*

S.C. Eckhardt-Gramatté*

Tanya Moiseiwitsch*

Oscar Peterson, C.C.*

Robert Weaver, O.C. *

Moncrieff Williamson, C.M. *

1976 Glenn Gould*

Florence James *

Félix Leclerc, O.C. *

Félix-Antoine Savard, O.C. *



1977 Ernest Lindner, O.C. *

Alfred Pellan, C.C. *

Barbara Pentland*

1978 Gilles Lefebvre, O.C.*

Barker Fairley, O.C. *

Norman McLaren, C.C. *

Norma Springford*

1979 Arthur Gelber, C.C., O.Ont. *

Bill Reid*

Yvonne Hubert*

1980 Père Émile Legault, O.C. *

Maureen Forrester, C.C. *

Gabrielle Roy, C.C. *

1981 Maxwell Bates, C.M.*

Robert Fulford, O.C.

Antonine Maillet, C.C.

Hon. Pauline McGibbon, C.C.*

1982 Betty Oliphant, C.C.*

Louis Archambault, O.C. *

G. Hamilton Southam, O.C.*

Mario Bernardi, C.C.

1983 Anita Aarons*

Pierrette Alarie, C.C.*

Lyell Gustin*

Léopold Simoneau, C.C.*

Arnold Spohr, C.C.*

1984 Jean-Paul Riopelle, C.C. *

Stan Rogers*

1985 Joan Chalmers, C.C., O.Ont., A.O.C.A.

Gilles Hénault*

Mavor Moore, C.C.*

1986 Celia Franca, C.C.*

Jean Papineau-Couture, O.C. *

1987 Gratien Gélinas, C.M.*

Dorothy Burnham, C.M.*

1988 Eva Cleland*

Robertson Davies, C.C.*

1989 Gweneth Lloyd, O.C. *

Betty Farrally*

Frédéric Back, O.C.

Herman Voaden, C.M. *

1990 Malcolm Ross, O.C. *

André Fortier







1991 Nicholas Goldschmidt, C.C., O.Ont., L.L.D. *

1992 Paul Siren, C.M. *

1993 Michael M. Koerner, C.M.

1994 Charles Dutoit, O.C.

1995 Phyllis Lambert, C.C., C.Q., FRAIC, RCA, LL.D

1996 John Beckwith, C.M.

1997 J. Alan Wood

1998 Dr. Louis Applebaum, C.C. *

1999 John Hobday, C.M.

2000 Peter Herrndorf, O.C.

2001 Vincent Tovell, O.C.

2002 Pierre Juneau, O.C.*

2003 Pierre Raphaël Pelletier

2004 John E.* & Barbara Poole

2005 Roch Carrier

2006 Bluma Appel, O.C., O. Ont.*

2007 Joe Fafard

2008 Alan King, O.C.*

2009 Françoise Sullivan, O.C.

2010 Joyce Zemans, C.M.

Keith Kelly Award for Cultural Leadership

1998 Keith Kelly

1999 Paul Siren, C.M.*

2000 Gilles Lefebvre, O.C.*

2001 Élise Paré-Tousignant

2002 John Kim Bell, O.C.

2003 Donald Sobey

2004 Mallory Gilbert

2005 Nini Baird, C.M.

2006 Pat Durr

2007 Garry Neil

Robert Pilon

2008 Simon Brault, O.C.

2009 Robert Jekyll

2010 Maurice Forget, C.M.

^{*}deceased