Assiniboia Times

March 19, 1987


Volunteer recognition awards presented


Eight area residents were honoured and thanked for their contribution to their communities on Tuesday night at the 1987 Volunteer Recognition Award presentation banquet at the Assiniboia Kinsmen Hall.

The recipients in Zone 3 were: Marg Dean of Assiniboia and Vera Weddige of Briercrest for services in heritage conservation; Darlene Nicholson of Morse, Henri Liboiron of Ponteix, Bryan Reeves of Shaunavon and Con Mehain of Limerick for their contributions to recreation; Ken May of Burstall and Bill Goulden of Assiniboia for their services in sport.

The Volunteer Recognition Program was initiated by Saskatchewan Culture and Recreation in 1985 and recognizes the valuable contribution volunteers make toward the development of sport, culture, recreation and heritage conservation at the community, regional and zone levels.

Complete coverage was not possible at presstime. A full write up will be run in next week's paper.

Back to Articles