### **ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS**

The revision of the *Natural History of Nova Scotia* was made possible through the perseverence and vision of Dr. Derek S. Davis, until recently Chief Curator of Natural History at the Nova Scotia Museum.

This project was built on the work of hundreds of people who have worked and are working in Nova Scotia. In an attempt to synthesize the work we have particularly relied on the expertise of a number of people in the civil service and the academic community as well as field naturalists. Some of these people have reviewed drafts of the manuscript, but the final decisions are those of the project team. We wish to acknowledge with deep gratitude the contributions of those people listed below, but we do not hold them responsible for any errors or omissions. We apologize if we have missed anyone who contributed to the project.

The project was funded under the Canada/Nova Scotia Agreement on Sustainable Economic Development and was based at the Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History. The following people are responsible for the production of this revised edition of the *Natural History of Nova Scotia:* 

#### **VOLUMES I AND II PROJECT TEAM:**

#### PROJECT COORDINATOR

Sue Browne

#### PROJECT ADMINISTRATOR

**Derek Davis** 

#### DATA MANAGER

Maria Hartery

#### GRAPHIC DESIGN

David MacDonald

#### RESEARCHERS

Ron Loucks, Loucks Oceanology Ltd.

Bernie McGuire Heather MacLeod

Pat Stewart, Envirosphere Consultants Ltd.

#### TECHNICAL EDITING

Sue Browne Susan Lucy

**Derek Davis** 

## COPY EDITING

Douglas Beall Susan Lucy

Iris Coupe Nicole Watkins-Campbell

Peter King

#### ORIGINAL ILLUSTRATIONS

Derek Davis Gary Patterson
Barry Donovan Robert Raeside
Barbara Lock Fred Scott
Clinton Milligan Jeffrey Ward

#### MAPS

Land Registration and Information Services
Tod Burt Lee MacNeill

**Gordon Cranton** 

#### COVER AND OVERALL DESIGN

David MacDonald

#### SUPPORT DESIGN

Neil Meister Kevin Sollows

#### ADDITIONAL PRODUCTION ART

Derek Cowie Design Sherry Laidlaw

#### PRODUCTION MANAGER

John Hennigar-Shuh

#### PHOTOGRAPHS FROM THE COLLECTIONS OF:

Phyllis Blades, Bob Bancroft, Karen Casselman, Alan Dauphinee, Mark Elderkin, Carl Haycock (BIOS), David Lawley, Oliver Maass, Linda Morris, Tim Randall, Nova Scotia Department of Education and Culture, Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources, and the Bedford Institute of Oceanography (BIO).

# THE FOLLOWING PROVINCIAL AGENCIES CONTRIBUTED TO THE REVISION:

- Department of Agriculture and Marketing—with special thanks to Ken Beesley, Rob Gordon, Mike Langlands, Phil Warman, Ken Webb
- Department of Education and Culture—with special thanks to Penny Brown, Angéline Doucet, John Gilhen, Bob Grantham, Debra McNabb, Scott Robson, Fred Scott, Sheila Stevenson, Alex Wilson, Ruth Whitehead, Barry Wright, John Hennigar-Shuh
- Department of the Environment—with special thanks to Dave Briggens, Andrew Cameron, Herb Doane, Darryl Taylor
- Department of Fisheries—with special thanks to Bob Bancroft, Kim Kelsey, Don MacLean
- Department of Municipal Affairs—with special thanks to Brian Cuthbertson
- Department of Natural Resources—with special thanks to Sandy Anderson, Dan Banks, Bob Boehner, Fred Boner, Colleen Brothers, John Calder, Howard Donohoe, Tony Duke, John Gillis, Ross Hall, Andrew Hanam, Paul Harvey, Dave Harris, David Hopper, Chris Kavanaugh, Duncan Keppie, John Leduc, Art Lynds, Jack MacDonald, Randy Milton, Peter Neiley, Tony Nette, Mike O'Brien, Garth Prime, Mark Pulsifer, Peter Rogers, Barry Sabean, Dale Smith, Ken Snow, Ralph Stea, Chris Trider, Paul Tufts
- Department of Supply and Services—with special thanks to Susan Lucy and Nicole Watkins-Campbell

## THE FOLLOWING FEDERAL AGENCIES CONTRIBUTED TO THE REVISION:

- Atlantic Geoscience Centre—with special thanks to Gordon Fader, Don Forbes, Peter Giles, Gary Grant, Lubomir Jansa, Bob Miller, David Piper, Bob Taylor, John Wade
- Canada/Nova Scotia Offshore Petroleum Board—with special thanks to Dave Brown
- Canadian Wildlife Service—with special thanks to Diane Amirault, Dick Brown, Tony Erskine, Steffan Gerriets, Peter Hicklin, Joe Kerekes, Tony Lock, Al Smith
- Agriculture Canada—with special thanks to Gary Patterson
- Department of Canadian Heritage—with special thanks to James Bridgeland, David Lawley, Neil Munro, Judith Tulloch
- Department of National Defense-with special

- thanks to Wayne Lumpsdon
- Department of Fisheries and Oceans—with special thanks to Don Gordon, Barry Hargrave, Brian Petrie, Gerald Seibert, Wes White
- Environment Canada—with special thanks to Don Ambler, Tom Clair, John Dublin, Colleen Farrell National Research Council of Canada—with special thanks to Carolyn Bird

## THE FOLLOWING ACADEMIC INSTITUTIONS CONTRIBUTED TO THE PROJECT:

- Acadia University—with special thanks to Graham Daborn, Mike Dadswell, Sherman Bleakney, Tom Herman, Reg Newell, Ruth Newell, Bob Raeside
- Dalhousie University—with special thanks to Barry Clark, Bill Freedman, Martin Gibling, Paul Schenk, Bob Scheibling, Dave Scott, Pierre Taschereau
- Mount Allison University—with special thanks to Laing Ferguson
- Nova Scotia College of Art and Design—with special thanks to Pat Manuel
- St. Francis Xavier University—with special thanks to Tony Davis
- Saint Mary's University—with special thanks to Terrence Day, Greg Klassen, Henrietta Mann, Hugh Millward, David Richardson, Doug Strongman, John Waldron
- Technical University of Nova Scotia—with special thanks to Terry Hennigar
- University College of Cape Breton—with special thanks to Don Arseneau, Charles Taylor

# SPECIAL THANKS TO THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS WHO CONTRIBUTED TO THE PROJECT:

Peter Austin-Smith Norval Balch John Brett Paul-Michael Brunelle Karen Casselman Con Desplanques Arlene Diepenbrock Shauna Henderson David Hope-Simpson Robert Ireland Carole Jacquard Lewis King Alan Knockwood Zoe Lucas Mary Lynack Clinton Milligan Wallace Niven John Parsons Alan Ruffman Gary Saunders Ruth Smith Harry Thurston Mike Wamboldt Howard Williams Mary Williams