THE COMMISSIONERS



Co-Chair Daniel J. Bellegarde is an Assiniboine/Cree from the Little Black Bear First Nation in southern Saskatchewan. From 1981 to 1984, Mr Bellegarde worked with the Meadow Lake District Chiefs Joint Venture as a socio-economic planner. He was president of the Saskatchewan Indian Institute of Technologies from 1984 to 1987. In 1988, he was elected first vice-chief of the Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations, a position he held until 1997. He is currently president of Dan Bellegarde & Associates, a consulting firm specializing in strategic planning, management and leadership development, self-governance, and human resource development in general. Mr Bellegarde was appointed Commissioner and then Co-Chair of the Indian Claims Commission in July 1992 and April 1994, respectively.



Co-Chair P.E. James Prentice, QC, is a lawyer with the Calgary law firm of Rooney Prentice. He has an extensive background in native land claims, commencing with his work as legal counsel and negotiator for the Province of Alberta in the tripartite negotiations that brought about the Sturgeon Lake Indian Claims Settlement of 1989. Since that time, Mr Prentice has participated in the inquiry or mediation of some 70 treaty land entitlement and surrender claims across Canada. Mr Prentice was appointed Queen's Counsel in 1992. He has also been the facility leader at the Banff Centre for Management's annual program on Specific Claims since 1994. He was appointed Commissioner and then Co-Chair of the Indian Claims Commission in July 1992 and April 1994, respectively.



Roger J. Augustine is a Mi'kmaq born at Eel Ground, New Brunswick, where he served as Chief from 1980 to 1996. He was elected president of the Union of NB-PEI First Nations in 1988, and completed his term in January 1994. He has received the prestigious Medal of Distinction from the Canadian Centre on Substance Abuse for 1993 and 1994 in recognition of his efforts in founding and fostering both the Eel Ground Drug and Alcohol Education Centre and the Native Alcohol and Drug Abuse Rehabilitation Association. In June 1996, he was named Miramichi Achiever of the Year by the Miramichi Regional Development Corporation. He was appointed Commissioner in July 1992.



Carole T. Corcoran is a lawyer with the Vancouver law firm of Fast & Corcoran. She is a Dene from Fort Nelson, British Columbia, and has extensive experience in aboriginal government and politics at the local, regional, and provincial levels. She has served on several boards and commissions, including the Royal Commission on Canada's Future (1990–91), the British Columbia Treaty Commission (1993–95), the Board of Governors, University of Northern British Columbia (1993–95), the Conflict Management Board, Royal Rhodes University (1997–2000), the Insurance Corporation of British Columbia (1998–2000), and as Co-Chair, First Nations Summit, BC (1998–2000). She was appointed to the Indian Claims Commission in July 1992.



Sheila G. Purdy has been an advisor to the Government of the Northwest Territories on justice and other matters relating to the territorial division and the creation of Nunavut. From 1993 to 1996, she was senior policy advisor to the Minister of Justice and the Attorney General of Canada on a number of justice issues, including aboriginal justice, the Canadian Human Rights Act, and violence against women. From 1991 to 1993, she was policy analyst to the National Liberal Caucus Research Bureau for the constitution, justice, aboriginal affairs, women, human rights, and the Solicitor General. In 1992 and 1993, she was special advisor on aboriginal affairs to the Office of the Leader of the Opposition, and from 1989 to 1991 a legal consultant on environmental issues. A strong advocate against abuse of the elderly, she is co-author of Elder Abuse: The Hidden Crime. In 1988, she received the Award of Merit from Concerned Friends for her efforts in this area. She worked as a lawyer in private practice from 1982 to 1985, after graduating with a law degree from the University of Ottawa in 1980. She was appointed Commissioner in May 1999.