" Discover the Heritage of the Baccalieu Trail "


New Chelsea - History Timeline

Mid 1700’s – Tradition tells of residents of Old Perlican using New Chelsea seasonally.

1790 – Old Perlican fisherman, Rodgers, builds a schooner in New Chelsea.

1700’s (late) – The families of Harrises, Johnsons and Whiteways come from Northern Bay. Belbins and Pynns fish out of New Chelsea and spend the winter at Mosquito (Bristol’s Hope) before becoming year round settlers of New Chelsea in the early 1800’s.

1810 – Family names of Trimm (descended from a native of Poole, Dorset) and Bailey are some other common family names of New Chelsea.

1828 – First place of worship in the community is a Methodist chapel.

1836 – Earliest recorded population is127 residents.

1840 – Robert Belbin, a long-serving teacher and reader at the Methodist church holds school for the first time in New Chelsea.

1865 – Methodist church built in 1828 is replaced.

1916 – The Salvation Army build a citadel.

1921 – The population grows to 365 people.

1965 – Pentecostal school is built, children of other denominations attend elementary classes in Hant’s Harbour and high-school classes in Brownsdale.

1976 – The Salvation Army suspends operation of their citadel with the opening of a new church by the Pentecostal Assemblies.

1980’s – The few remaining fishermen make much of their living from crab, capelin, and squid which are processed at the P. Janes and Sons plant in Hant’sHarbour.