" Discover the Heritage of the Baccalieu Trail "
1824 – A planter named George Temple is settled at "Selby’s Cove".
1800’s – Throughout the century other settlers come from Lower Island Cove and Old Perlican.
1860 – Solomon and David Reid, originally from Lower Island Cove arrived in Sibley’s Cove.
1865 – The Sparke’s family establishes themselves as residents.
1874 – Sibley’s Cove (combined with Lead Cove) first appears on the Census with a population of 61.
1884 – The population is listed as 93.
1889 – Recorded family names include: Eady, Sparks, Squires, and Read. There is a limited amount of farming in the cove and salmon, herring and cod is taken by local fishermen.
1891 – One vessel leaves Sibley’s Cove for the Labrador Fishery.
1895 – The first school is built and kept by Isaac March of Brownsdale.
1899 – A Methodist Chapel is built.
1901 - The sixty-seven people in Sibley’s Cove and twenty-four in Torquay all belong to the Methodist Church.
1916 – William Button is operating a cod liver oil factory in nearby Lead Cove.1942 – An Orange Hall is constructed.
1957 – A government wharf is constructed for the inshore fishermen. Fish are sold to W.J. Moores and Earle’s Exporters in Carbonear.
1994 – Students attend school in Hant’s Harbour and Brownsdale. Other services and employment outside the fishery are found in larger centres of Conception Bay such as Carbonear and Harbour Grace.